California therapy rates: what can actually be verified.

Public fee schedules and job postings, without turning isolated forum reports into market rates.

Commercial insurers do not publish a usable California reimbursement schedule. This page separates figures anyone can verify — official CMS rules, CalVCB rates, BLS wages and current public employer pages — from anonymous reports and untraceable calculations that are too thin to publish responsibly.

In short

What should I be charging?

Panel rates and private-pay ranges by region, and what moves yours

$106–132 insurance against $180–350 Bay Area private pay
Public programs: verifiable schedules
Commercial plans: no public CA benchmark
Compare the same code, channel, license, locality and year No inferred ranking

The useful question is not which payer supposedly pays best. It is which figures can be traced to a current public source, and how a written offer performs after unpaid administration, cancelations, benefits and overhead. Where the evidence is too small or too identifying, this page now says so instead of publishing the anecdote.

Quick answers
What does a commercial plan pay for 90837?
No reliable statewide public benchmark. Ask for the fee schedule in writing.
What can be verified publicly?
CalVCB publishes $105 per hour for licensed clinicians and $97 for associates. CMS confirms Medicare eligibility and payment rules, but the locality-specific 90837 amount is not displayed here until its complete calculation can be reproduced.
Can I rank commercial payers?
Not from the available public sample. Exact anecdotal rows and best/worst rankings are suppressed.
Are public job-posting rates comparable?
Only within the same W-2/1099 model, session length, location and included work.
I.

What insurance actually pays

Published fee schedules first. Commercial-plan anecdotes are not substitutes for a rate sheet.

Why there is no commercial-payer ranking here. An earlier version reproduced exact payer figures contributed by four California clinicians. That sample was too small to support a market estimate and some combinations of payer, channel, place and date could identify a contributor. Those rows, the best/worst ranking and the recommendations based on them have been withdrawn. A commercial-payer result will appear only when at least five independent, sufficiently non-identifying observations exist for the same payer, network, code, channel, license group, geography and reporting period.

Published, verifiable fee schedules

SourceLMFT / LCSW / LPCCAssociate
Medicare MFT/MHC rule75% of the clinical-psychologist PFS amount
Use the CMS PFS lookup for code, setting and locality
Not independently billable
CalVCB, effective June 1, 2024 (PDF)$105 per hour$97 per hour
Medi-Cal fee-for-serviceNot displayed
Exact therapist/code amount not yet tied here to a controlling DHCS schedule
Not displayed

CMS states that eligible MFTs and mental health counselors may bill Medicare independently for covered mental-health services furnished from January 1, 2024, and that Part B pays them at 75% of the clinical-psychologist Physician Fee Schedule amount. A locality-specific dollar result also depends on the code, place of service and current PFS inputs, so this page no longer displays a derived California range without preserving that complete calculation.

A Medi-Cal plan schedule is not automatically a therapist’s contracted rate. DHCS explains that published behavioral-health schedules can describe what the state reimburses a managed-care plan, while the plan negotiates payment with its network providers. Until the exact provider type, code, setting and controlling DHCS source are tied together, this page leaves the therapist FFS cell blank rather than repeating an untraceable number. See the DHCS FY 2026–27 schedule explanation.
Blue Shield changed administrators on January 1, 2026. Blue Shield says it assumed direct management of the remaining behavioral-health services previously managed by Magellan. Its current Provider Connection contact page lists (800) 258-3091 for provider information and enrollment. A pre-2026 report may describe a different administrator and contract, so it should not be carried forward as a current Blue Shield rate.

Direct contract or platform: compare the written offers

A payer name does not establish the amount you will receive. Product, network, administrator, provider type, location, service code, modifier and contract channel can all change the answer. Compare offers only after confirming the same:

  • Service: intake, 90834 and 90837 rates, including whether longer sessions are flattened to the shorter-session rate.
  • Work: documentation, required assessments, authorization requests and expected unpaid administration.
  • Collection: patient responsibility, denial risk, payment timing and any billing or platform fee.
  • Contract: term, amendment rights, termination notice, clawbacks and whether referrals are promised or merely possible.
  • Economics: expected fill rate and annual net revenue, not the largest isolated per-session number.
Use your own documents. Enter the rate sheet you were offered in the insurance offer calculator. The calculator keeps inputs in your browser and does not treat another clinician’s contract as your expected rate.

The third channel: EAPs and employer platforms

How an EAP session gets paid for, and by whom
The employerPays a flat per-employee-per-month fee
The platformHolds a pool and sets the session allowance — typically 6 to 12 a year
YouPaid per session out of that pool

Nobody bills a CPT code to a payer. There is no fee schedule and no allowed amount, which is why none of the rates below can be looked up the way a Medi-Cal or Medicare rate can. The client pays nothing at the point of use.

Lyra, Spring Health, Headspace and similar services may engage clinicians as employees, contractors or network providers. A public careers page can establish what a posting says; it cannot establish a confidential network rate or what a particular clinician receives.

Current public-source status · checked August 24, 2026
PlatformPublished rateWhat the current public source establishes
Spring Healthprovider and employee pathsNot statedThe provider page confirms contracted and full-time roles, but it does not publish a current California rate. Source
Headspacecurrent therapy openingsNo CA figureThe current openings page lists therapy roles, but no current California therapist pay figure was available at review. Source
Two ChairsW-2 modelNot statedThe careers page confirms W-2 employment, benefits and pay for administration, no-shows and qualifying late cancelations; it does not state a current therapist pay figure. Source
Brightside Healthcareers pageNot verifiedThe current careers page did not provide a traceable California therapist rate at review. Source
Lyra Healthprovider careersNot verifiedThe current provider-careers search did not establish a California 1099 network rate. Source

“Not stated” is a useful finding. It prevents an old or isolated figure from becoming a fake current benchmark. Anonymous or one-person contract reports are not used to fill these gaps.

The decision still depends on paid versus unpaid documentation, cancelations, benefits, office costs, minimum availability and how many referrals actually arrive. Compare like with like: a W-2 hourly range is not a 1099 per-session rate.

What a public careers page can prove

It can prove what the company currently says about its role, employment model and benefits. It proves a pay figure only when the figure appears in a current, traceable posting. A general careers page is not evidence for a rate remembered from a closed posting.

Every displayed figure must remain traceable to a public source. A closed posting may be retained only when the evidence ledger preserves a dated public copy and the page labels it historical. A number from an anonymous forum, private group, confidential contract or one-person submission is not used to fill a blank.

Without a published rate, evaluate the structure of the actual offer:

  • Session allowance: ask whether the employer benefit caps visits and what happens when the allowance ends.
  • Referral volume: ask whether any minimum volume is guaranteed and how long comparable clinicians wait for a filled caseload.
  • Required work: count assessments, notes, meetings, authorizations and other time attached to a session.
  • W-2 or 1099: compare taxes, benefits, paid non-session time and business expenses before comparing headline pay.
  • Payment terms: confirm cancelations, no-shows, claim responsibility, timing, recoupments and disputes in writing.

Before signing anything, the questions that actually determine what you earn: what is the contracted rate for an intake versus a follow-up, and is it the same for 45 and 53 minutes? How many sessions is a member authorized, and are you paid for no-shows and late cancelations? How long from session to payment? Is there a minimum caseload or availability requirement? What are the required assessments and how long do they take? And can a client continue with you privately when their allowance runs out — or does a non-solicitation clause prevent it?

II.

What private-pay evidence can show

An advertised fee is not the amount a practice collects, and an individual report is not a market.

Regional private-pay ranges are temporarily suppressed. The previous Bay Area and Los Angeles ranges did not carry a reproducible source count, collection date and inclusion rule. They will return only after the underlying public business listings can be recounted with at least five independent observations in every displayed geography and license group. Even then they will be labeled as advertised fees, not earnings.

For employed-income context, the Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes statewide and metro estimates for marriage and family therapists. These figures are wages, not private-practice fees or insurance reimbursements:

MetroMean annual wageMFTs employed
Vallejo–Fairfield$109,130160
San Francisco–Oakland–Hayward$92,3703,740
San Jose–Sunnyvale–Santa Clara$86,7101,220
Sacramento–Roseville$81,0801,430
California statewide$69,780—
Los Angeles–Long Beach–Anaheim$63,42010,920
San Diego–Carlsbad$62,9804,710

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, Marriage and Family Therapists, May 2023. The BLS profile supplies the occupation’s geographic and industry tables and explains that these are employer survey estimates.

The table supports a geographic wage comparison for employed MFTs. It does not establish why the differences exist, what a private-practice client pays or what a commercial payer reimburses.

Work setting changes the number as much as geography

SettingMean annual wage
Elementary / secondary schools$89,000
State government$84,770
Outpatient care centers$67,600
Offices of other health practitioners$67,230
Individual and family services$67,150

In the May 2023 BLS industry table, elementary and secondary schools and state government have higher mean wages than the three other settings shown. The table does not establish total compensation, benefits or the reason for the difference.

III.

Why no single rate gap is published

Both sides change with the contract, code, location, collections and work included.

Commercial reimbursement
Contract-specific
The same payer name can hide different products, networks, administrators and channels.
Private-pay collections
Practice-specific
Advertised fee, collected fee, sliding scale and filled-session rate are different measures.

Why the old cross-state ranking was removed

The former table mixed payer, product, contract type, clinician status, year and state. It could not show that a difference came from geography rather than a different contract. Cross-state commercial comparisons will not be published until the observations meet the same minimum sample, age and comparability rules as California results.

IV.

What actually moves your number

Five checks that work without relying on somebody else’s confidential or anecdotal rate.

  1. Identify the exact plan route. Record payer, product, network and administrator before comparing anything.
  2. Request the complete fee schedule in writing. Include intake, 90834, 90837, family codes, telehealth rules and modifiers you actually use.
  3. Calculate effective hourly revenue. Include documentation, authorizations, billing, expected denials, cancelation policy and platform or billing fees.
  4. Model a realistic year. Use the referrals and filled sessions you can reasonably expect, not a theoretical full caseload.
  5. Compare contract terms as well as price. Amendment rights, termination, clawbacks, records duties and patient-transition rules can outweigh a small rate difference.

If you're setting a private-pay fee instead

  • Start with your required annual take-home, working weeks, realistic filled sessions and total overhead.
  • Separate your advertised fee from your expected collected fee after sliding-scale places and cancelations.
  • Check several comparable public practice listings, but do not copy a single clinician or treat the highest listing as a market rate.
  • Explain superbills accurately: out-of-network reimbursement depends on the client’s plan, deductible, allowed amount and claim approval.
Costs that do not show up in the headline rate: unpaid administration · billing or platform fees · denials and aging receivables · no-shows and late cancelations · office and technology costs · self-employment tax, benefits and unpaid leave. Measure your own values rather than importing another practice’s assumptions.

About this data

Source hierarchy. Government fee schedules and official payer or employer publications are shown first and linked where available. Public job postings are labeled as job postings, not insurance reimbursement. BLS figures are wages, not practice fees. Anonymous posts, private-group messages, confidential contracts and one-person submissions do not appear as individual rows.

Threshold for an anonymous aggregate. A cell must contain at least five independent observations describing the same payer, network, service code, contract channel, license group, broad geography and reporting period. Reports must be at least 90 days old, no contributor may supply more than one observation to a cell, and the result is published only as sample size, median and range. If those rules would create a reasonably identifiable combination, the cell remains suppressed.

Privacy and collection. No usernames, handles, profile or post links, screenshots, verbatim quotations, practice names, message text, patient information or uniquely identifying combinations are published or retained in the public dataset. Therapist Support does not automate collection from Reddit or closed forums. Future self-reports must be submitted directly with explicit permission for anonymous aggregation.

Use. Historical observations describe what was reported; they do not recommend a fee, rank a payer, predict an offer or invite clinicians to coordinate prices. A rate is meaningful only with its code, year, locality, network, administrator, channel and included work.

Corrections and removal. If a figure is wrong, outdated or potentially identifying, use Report a wrong figure. A challenged anonymous cell is unpublished while it is reviewed. The internal evidence ledger stores only the minimum non-personal fields needed to reproduce an aggregate.

Current displayed sources include the CMS MFT/MHC payment rule, DHCS rate-setting guidance, CalVCB rates effective June 1, 2024, current public employer pages, Blue Shield of California provider communications and BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics. Methodology and narrative reviewed August 24, 2026.

Verify against your own contract, EOBs and 835 remittance advice before making a financial decision. This page is informational, not personalized financial or legal advice. Rates, contracts and public postings change.

Source links

This page links to official or statutory references. Check the relevant source and its date; links alone do not document a review.

You should not have to work this part out on your own.

Once a month: what other California therapists are actually doing, something that caught a colleague out, and anything new here that might save you an afternoon.

About monthly. One click to leave. Never sold, never shared.