Will you ever leave California?
If maybe, begin with COAMFTE. It is not a quality ranking; it is the clearest portability signal.
See the accreditation comparison ↓82 California programs · every one the Board recognizes
What each one publishes about itself — degree, units, length, format, accreditation and cost — next to what students and graduates actually say about it in public. No rankings. No estimated tuition.
In short
Which California MFT program should I apply to?
Every program the Board lists plus one out-of-state COAMFTE degree, on published facts only, with real forum discussion
78 institutions, 12 COAMFTE accreditedThe Board keeps a list of institutions whose degrees may qualify — its own word — and the statute reserves the Board the final say regardless of any accreditation. So treat this as a starting point for your own checking, not as an approval. What the degree has to contain is on the licensure page →
One filter matters more than the rest. COAMFTE accreditation is what decides whether your degree travels: inside California a BBS-approved, regionally-accredited program is fine, and outside it a non-COAMFTE degree can mean remedial coursework or no license at all. 12 of the 78 hold it.
Every figure below is computed from the same records as the cards further down this page, so the two cannot disagree. Nothing here is a ranking and nothing is scored — bars are sorted by size only because an unsorted bar chart cannot be read.
Accreditation
11 of the 77 institutions on the Board’s list hold COAMFTE accreditation. It is the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California; inside California it is not required, and the other 66 license graduates every year.
Cost
Solid bars are a total the institution publishes itself. Hatched bars are its own published per-unit rate multiplied by its own published unit count — arithmetic on its figures, not an estimate of mine. 43 of the 78 publish neither, so they are not on this chart at all; that is a fair thing to ask admissions directly. None of these figures include campus fees, books, or the years of living costs that dwarf them.
Time
Time to the degree only. The 3,000 associate hours that follow it take most people a further two to three years, and part-time study stretches both ends.
Format
Delivery format is the field most loosely worded in program marketing, and these are my reading of each program’s own words. Whatever it says, the clinical placement happens in a room with real clients near where you live — no format changes that.
Size
Unit totals are not comparable across calendars. Three quarter units are roughly two semester units, so a 90-unit quarter program and a 60-unit semester one are the same size. Comparing the raw numbers makes quarter-system schools look half again as long as they are.
Start with the decision, not the school
Most comparisons begin with a list of universities. That is backwards. First decide which risks you can live with; then use the directory to find the programs that fit.
If maybe, begin with COAMFTE. It is not a quality ranking; it is the clearest portability signal.
See the accreditation comparison ↓An online timetable can be flexible while the clinical placement is not. Compare guaranteed, placed, assisted and student-sourced models before comparing course delivery.
Use the five admissions questions ↓Published tuition runs from $37,800 to $152,340 here, before fees and living costs. Compare a fifth term and the income you give up as well as the advertised price.
Model the return on the degree →A dual LMFT/LPCC route can preserve another licensing path. Confirm that the exact degree and format you choose qualifies for both.
Filter for the LPCC route ↓Degree to license
For a new California applicant, the usual sequence is a qualifying master’s or doctorate, AMFT registration, 3,000 supervised hours over at least 104 weeks, the California Law and Ethics Exam, and the LMFT Clinical Exam. A program can change the cost, portability and how many pre-degree hours you bank; it cannot remove the post-degree licensing steps.
Official requirements change. Verify your route with the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. Read the full California LMFT licensing guide →
Explore by question
These are questions, not criteria. This page does not tell you which program is better, and a list of things to look for would be that verdict wearing a different hat.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
300 direct client contact hours, 100 supervision hours; largest COAMFTE footprint in CA
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
The Board lists this under a double-barrelled name, “America Evangelical University, Kairos Pacific University” — AEU runs the Kairos Pacific campus on Walnut Avenue in Tustin. It is not the same institution as Kairos University in Sioux Falls, which is separately COAMFTE-accredited. The school’s own page says the program meets the educational standards set by the Board.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
BBS-listed separately for LMFT/LPCC; program specifics not verified in this pass
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Concentrations: Latinx Mental Health; Somatic Psychotherapy; or a dual concentration
Gottman Couples Therapy Level 1 Certificate is a core requirement; 300+ hours of clinical training
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
BBS lists Biola/Talbot for LMFT only — no LPCC.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition, time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of only 4 options on the Board’s list sited in far northern California.
BBS-listed for LCSW, LMFT, LEP (not LPCC)
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition, time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
BBS-listed for LMFT only. Catalog page did not render for direct verification of subplan naming.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition, time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
The program finds your clinical site rather than leaving it to you — 9 of the 78 do.
BBS-listed for LMFT; program page not verified in this pass
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →LPCC: Yes, but format-dependent — weekday and weekend on-campus formats qualify for both LMFT and LPCC; the hybrid format qualifies for LPCC only
Integral/holistic, spiritual and multicultural orientation. CIIS also runs other counseling MAs (e.g. Somatic, Expressive Arts, Community Mental Health) not individually verified here.
One of only 3 schools that state every student in good standing gets a clinical placement.
BBS lists Cal Lutheran for LMFT only — no LPCC.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and time to complete. Worth asking admissions directly.
An out-of-state institution running a California-specific degree — 13 of the 78 are.
One thing to settle before applying: CalSouthern’s own catalog says the Board considers it an out-of-state institution, and the Board’s table lists it for both LMFT and LPCC anyway. Those two statements are hard to reconcile from outside, and this is a question for the Board rather than for either page.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of only 4 options on the Board’s list sited in far northern California.
Counseling Training Clinic; graduates typically accrue 400–500 clinical hours
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
Curriculum aligned with COAMFTE standards (not accredited); 300 client-contact-hour practicum
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and units. Worth asking admissions directly.
Additional units may be needed for LPCC
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Fresno Family Counseling Center; Kremen School of Education
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Ánimo: Latinx Counseling concentration exists in the catalog but the extension page states it is not currently offered. Extension part-time program closed through Spring 2028; main HHD Counseling program admits for Fall 2026.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Also yields school-counseling credentials; requires LA-area residence
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
Eisner College of Education, Dept. of Educational Psychology & Counseling; day and evening classes
Not published by the school: tuition, time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
Explicitly states dual LMFT + LPCC educational eligibility
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →375 required practicum hours; 15+ hrs/week at a clinical placement by Year 2. Approved by CA BBS and BPPE.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and units. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of only 3 schools that state every student in good standing gets a clinical placement.
Frances Smith Center for Individual and Family Therapy (on-site community clinic); Delta Kappa Honor Society chapter — one of only two MFT programs in CA with this
An out-of-state institution running a California-specific degree — 13 of the 78 are.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
Specializations: Counseling (MAC), MFT, Imago Relationship Therapy (IRT), Human Sexuality and Sex Therapy (HST). Likely the lowest-cost COAMFTE-accredited option in CA.
The program finds your clinical site rather than leaving it to you — 9 of the 78 do.
Max 20 students per class; 50+ community agency practicum partners; all faculty are practicing clinicians
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Seminary-based; integrates Christian theology with clinical training. Also offers an MFT + PPS School Counseling Credential partnership and an MDiv/MFT dual degree.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: format. Worth asking admissions directly.
LPCC: Yes, Pasadena campus only
Medical Family Therapy specialization available
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →An out-of-state institution running a California-specific degree — 13 of the 78 are.
Requires 300 face-to-face clinical hours plus a 50-hour personal psychotherapy requirement
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition, time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
A small Korean-American Christian institution on East Lambert Road in Brea. There is no page for the program on its own — the link goes to the whole program list. Its page states the 67-unit degree qualifies graduates for California LMFT licensure. Accreditation is not stated on the site, which is the first thing to ask.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
DMFT students also earn the M.A. en route, so they can work clinically while completing the doctorate
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Formerly William Jessup University. The program requires 280 direct client-contact hours and 20 hours of personal psychotherapy, and its page states it is designed to meet the Board’s qualifying-degree requirements for both LMFT and LPCC.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →The program finds your clinical site rather than leaving it to you — 9 of the 78 do.
Run by an integrated health system rather than a university, which shapes almost everything about it. Clinical placements are assigned by the program’s own coordinator inside Kaiser’s Northern California Mental Health Training Program — you are not competing for a site — but Kaiser says its training locations are “currently limited geographically” and warns that students “may be required to travel long distances”. A place in the program is not a job offer either: the post-degree Kaiser fellowship is explicitly not guaranteed. The financing is the other thing to settle early — the school accepts no federal aid at all, no Title IV and no FAFSA, so a $40,000 degree is funded by private loan, an employer, or the Mental Health Scholars Academy scholarship of up to $19,485, which is itself contingent on completing practicum at a Kaiser site.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Life Pacific announced Board approval for both LMFT and LPCC on 26 September 2025, and the Board’s table lists both. The program page itself still mentions only LPCC — the announcement and the table are the newer sources.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
DMFT is post-master's — requires an existing licensure-qualifying MFT/CFT or clinical counseling master's. It is 'the only fully online DMFT program granted accreditation' by COAMFTE.
Not published by the school: time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
The program finds your clinical site rather than leaving it to you — 9 of the 78 do.
Founded 1975; Art Therapy Clinic; Art Therapy Research Institute; International Summer Program. Prepares for both CA MFT licensure and national art therapy registration.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →An out-of-state institution running a California-specific degree — 13 of the 78 are.
Requires 40 hours of personal psychotherapy for graduation; transformative/generative learning orientation
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Enlaces! bilingual Spanish-English certificate embedded at no additional units; includes a Spanish-speaking clinical placement
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
First distance-education MFT program to receive COAMFTE accreditation. Nine specializations: Child & Adolescent Family Therapy, Couple Therapy, General Family Therapy, LGBTQ Couple & Family Therapy, Medical Family Therapy, Military Family Therapy, Systemic Sex Therapy, Systemic Treatment of Addictions, Trauma-Informed Systemic Therapy. IMPORTANT: 45 credits is below CA's 60-semester-unit floor — verify which NU program is the CA-qualifying one (likely the M.A. Counseling Psychology).
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and time to complete. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
This is the only school here that does not appear on the Board’s list, under any spelling — it is an Illinois institution and the list is overwhelmingly California-sited. That is not a finding of ineligibility. Its MSMFT is COAMFTE-accredited, and a COAMFTE-accredited out-of-state degree can qualify in California through Bus. & Prof. Code §§4980.36/4980.37 and the Board’s Out-of-State Degree Program Certification — but through that route, on application, rather than automatically.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
LPCC: Yes — LPCC specialization requires 280 in-person clinical hours + 5 additional credits
Specializations: African American Family Studies; Latinx Family Studies; LGBTQIA+ Studies; Trauma Studies (secondary add-on)
Depth psychology orientation — interdisciplinary courses in literature, mythology, religion and culture alongside clinical training. The strongest depth/archetypal option in the state.
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
LPCC: Yes — LPCC is the primary track; the MFCC emphasis satisfies CA MFT educational requirements
An out-of-state institution running a California-specific degree — 13 of the 78 are.
Explicitly states graduates meet educational requirements to sit for LMFT or LPCC in California
All students complete the same 63 units regardless of which license they pursue
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of only 2 schools here that still requires an admissions test.
The Board lists Rhombus for LMFT and LPCC. Its own program page states neither licensure eligibility nor accreditation, and markets “professional Christian counselors” — confirm its accreditation with the school before treating this row as equivalent to the rest of the list.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Dual specialization option adds the PPS credential
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
Culturally-infused curriculum, social justice emphasis; systemic/social-constructionist orientation; Center for Community Counseling and Engagement
Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
LPCC: Conditional — requires additionally completing the Clinical Mental Health Counseling emphasis to be endorsed for LPCC
Not published by the school: tuition, time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
Explicitly BBS-approved for CA MFT; program states it has made no determination of licensure eligibility in any state other than California
Emphases: Latino Counseling, LGBTQ Counseling, Health Psychology, Correctional Psychology, Child & Adolescent Mental Health
Sentio holds provisional approval from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, and that approval expires in July 2028. Per the Board’s notice, a Sentio graduate may register as an Associate and may sit the California Law and Ethics exam — but may not sit the Clinical Exam, and therefore cannot be licensed, until Sentio is fully accredited. If accreditation is not achieved by July 2028, Associates registered on this degree are disqualified and their supervised hours will not be accepted. That is the whole pathway, so read the notice itself before applying — and note that the school appears on the Board’s qualifying-degree list at the same time. Read the Board’s notice (PDF, 27 May 2026) →
One of only 3 schools that state every student in good standing gets a clinical placement.
Not published; scholarships $16,800–$67,200. Federal student loans NOT accepted.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of only 4 options on the Board’s list sited in far northern California.
The program page states it meets Board requirements for both LMFT and LPCC. With Cal Poly Humboldt it is one of only two options on the Board’s list sited in far northern California, which is most of the reason to know about it.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →LPCC: Yes — students elect LMFT track, LPCC track, or both, starting in year 2
Creative Expression Concentration (21 units); transpersonal psychology heritage
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and time to complete. Worth asking admissions directly.
The Board lists it for LMFT and LPCC. The program page describes the Board-required training components but does not itself name the LPCC pathway.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and units. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
Practicum: 300 face-to-face contact hours minimum, ≥100 with couples and families
Cultural competency and social justice emphasis. Note: students who defer practicum are not eligible for federal loans in year 3.
Not published by the school: time to complete. Worth asking admissions directly.
Touro’s own student-and-consumer-information page states that the Marriage and Family Therapy track “is the only track accredited with show cause” by COAMFTE. Show cause is the most serious status short of withdrawal: the program keeps its accreditation while it is required to demonstrate why it should not lose it. Two things this does not mean. The institution is not in trouble — WSCUC lists Touro University Worldwide as accredited with no sanction, most recent Commission action 27 June 2025. And it does not stop you licensing in California: the Board lists this institution, and California licensure does not require COAMFTE accreditation at all. What it does affect is portability to states and employers that require a COAMFTE degree, and the risk that the program’s status changes while you are enrolled. If you are considering this program, or are in it, ask the program directly what the show-cause findings were and when the Commission next reviews them. Read the Board’s notice (PDF, 10 August 2026) →
The cheapest published cost on the Board’s list — $37,800, against $152,340 at the other end.
Program states the MFT track meets CA BBS requirements without additional coursework. 300 practicum client-contact hours, ≥100 relational.
Program established 1973; fall-only admission, Feb 15 deadline; 225-hour minimum fieldwork
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and time to complete. Worth asking admissions directly.
LPCC: Three additional courses may make graduates eligible to register as an APCC in some states
An out-of-state institution running a California-specific degree — 13 of the 78 are.
The Board’s listing is qualified: it reads “University of Massachusetts Global – California campus only”. UMass Global is a national institution and the Board’s approval does not extend past the California campus, so confirm which campus a given cohort is enrolled through before assuming the degree qualifies.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and time to complete. Worth asking admissions directly.
An out-of-state institution running a California-specific degree — 13 of the 78 are.
California residents only, by design — the program exists to satisfy the California Board. Read it as an out-of-state institution delivering a California-specific degree, not as a California campus.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: time to complete. Worth asking admissions directly.
LPCC is the base outcome; the MFT specialization adds LMFT eligibility
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of the 12 COAMFTE-accredited programs here — the accreditation that decides whether the degree travels out of California.
Dept. of Counseling & Marital and Family Therapy; COAMFTE-accredited since 1992 (per third-party source, unverified on USD's own site)
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: time to complete and format. Worth asking admissions directly.
The most expensive published cost here — $152,340, about 4.0 times the cheapest.
Mandatory fees $977 on-campus / $31 online; school projects 3–5% annual increases
Relatively new program. Cannot support an I-20 for international students.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →States it is the only Buddhist-focused MFT curriculum in the state and nation. 10:1 student-faculty ratio. Four specializations: Generalist, Family Systems & Intergenerational Studies, Mindfulness-Based Therapy, Community Mental Health.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Average class size 12; late afternoon and evening scheduling
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
One of only 4 options on the Board’s list sited in far northern California.
One of the few schools on the Board’s list that says it in its own words: the program page states it is “approved by the state of California’s Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS) for both LPCC and LMFT licensure requirements.”
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition and units. Worth asking admissions directly.
Tuition is $9,600 a year, charged as an annual subscription rather than per unit — on any ordinary completion timeline that makes it by a wide margin the cheapest LMFT-qualifying degree on the Board’s list. Two things to weigh against that. It is accredited by DEAC, a national rather than a regional accreditor, which is the distinction that decides whether a degree travels. And the unit count is not on the website; it is in the June 2026 catalog PDF. Non-profit, founded 1975.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →Not published by the school: tuition. Worth asking admissions directly.
Board-approved since 1992, and the page states it satisfies both the AMFT/LMFT and APCC/LPCC registration paths. The seminary is Oregon-based; the California counseling degree is delivered from the San Jose campus, which is what the Board lists.
Courses, curriculum, practicum and cost →| Keep | Institution | Practicum — who secures it | Admissions test | Units | Length | Format | Published tuition | COAMFTE | LPCC |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alliant International University (CSPP)San Diego, Irvine, Los Angeles/Alhambra, Sacramento, Online | You find your own | not published | MA: 60 credits. PsyD/PhD: page cites '69-unit and 114-unit' options — not cleanly attributable, left unverified. | MA: minimum 2 years (6 semesters or 13 terms) | On-campus and fully online (synchronous + asynchronous) | $1,463/unit | Yes | Yes | |
| America Evangelical University / Kairos Pacific UniversityTustin | not published | not published | 66 units | About 2.5 years | In person, with evening and part-time options | not published | — | Yes | |
| Antioch University Los AngelesCulver City / Los Angeles | not published | not published | 90 quarter credits | not published | not published | $956/unit | — | Yes | |
| Antioch University Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara | not published | Not required | 90 quarter units minimum | 8 quarters (24 months) minimum full-time, one-day-per-week schedule | On-campus, some weekend and online courses | not published | — | Yes | |
| Azusa Pacific UniversityAzusa, Inland Empire, Orange County, San Diego | You apply, with help | not published | 63–90 units | 2–4 years (3 years is the recommended pace) | Evening and daytime cohorts | $865/unit | — | Yes | |
| Biola University (Talbot School of Theology)La Mirada | not published | Not required | 67 credits | 4 years | On-campus | not published | — | No | |
| Cal Poly HumboldtArcata | Program places you | not published | 60 units (16 of them fieldwork) | not published | not published | not published | — | No | |
| Cal Poly PomonaPomona | You apply, with help | Not required | 60 units | not published | not published | not published | — | No | |
| Cal Poly San Luis ObispoSan Luis Obispo | Program places you | Not required | 69 semester units (73 with thesis) | not published | not published | not published | — | No | |
| California Baptist UniversityRiverside | not published | not published | 63–87 units | 2 years | Fall, Spring and Summer entry points; on-campus and online variants exist | $864/unit | — | Yes | |
| California Institute of Integral StudiesSan Francisco | You apply, with help | not published | 60 units (LMFT track); 70 units (LPCC track) | 3 years (7 semesters) | On-campus weekday; on-campus weekend (5 weekends/semester); hybrid online | $1,449/unit | — | Yes | |
| California Lutheran UniversityThousand Oaks | Seat guaranteed | not published | 60 credits | 3 years (2-year accelerated option) | On-campus, Thousand Oaks; day and evening cohorts | $940/unit | — | No | |
| California Southern UniversityOnline (Chandler, AZ; incorporated in California in 1978) | not published | not published | 60 credits | not published | Fully online | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, BakersfieldBakersfield | not published | not published | 66 semester units | 3 years, full-time cohort | In-person full-time cohort, classes 1pm-10pm Mon-Thu, fall entry only | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, ChicoChico | You apply, with help | Not required | 60 units | 3 years, full-time cohort | Fully on-campus, Mon-Fri 8am-6pm; on campus 3-4 days a week for the first two years | not published | — | No | |
| California State University, Dominguez HillsCarson | You apply, with help | Required, waivable | 64 credits | 3 years | not published | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, East BayHayward | not published | Not required | not published | 2 years (~5 semesters) | Full-time cohort, Hayward campus only; day, evening, some weekends | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, Fresno (Fresno State)Fresno | You find your own | not published | 60 units | 5 semesters | On-campus + clinic | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, Fullerton (University Extension)Fullerton | You apply, with help | Not required | 63 units (21 courses) | 3 years + 1 term | On-campus, part-time, evening | $675/unit | — | Yes | |
| California State University, Long BeachLong Beach | not published | Not required | 65 units min | 2-year or 2.5-year tracks | Hybrid — in-person + synchronous online; not fully online. Late afternoon/evening M–Th, some weekend sessions | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, Los AngelesLos Angeles | not published | Not required | 73–77 units | 2.5–3 years, full-time only | In-person, late-afternoon/evening, 2–4 days/week; explicitly no online option | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, NorthridgeNorthridge | You apply, with help | Required | 72 semester units | 2.5–3 years, cohort, mandatory summers | Primarily in-person, some hybrid courses | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| California State University, SacramentoSacramento | You apply, with help | not published | 60 units | not published | not published | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, San BernardinoSan Bernardino | not published | not published | 60–68 semester units (varies by culminating option) | 2 years, full-time day cohort | On-campus full-time lockstep cohort | not published | — | Yes | |
| California State University, StanislausTurlock | not published | Not required | 60 units min (36 core + 24 track) | 2.5 years (5 semesters) | not published | not published | — | Yes | |
| Campbellsville University — Los Angeles Education Center (formerly Phillips Graduate University/Institute)Los Angeles | You apply, with help | not published | 60 units | 2 years / 5 consecutive terms incl. summers; part-time 6–7 terms | One full day per week (Saturday or weekday, 8am–5pm PT) plus case conferences and practicum | $66,495 | — | No | |
| Chapman UniversityOrange | Seat guaranteed | Required, waivable | not published | 2 years incl. one-year clinical practicum | On-campus | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| Concordia University Irvine (Townsend Institute)Irvine / online | not published | not published | 66 units | ~3–4 years | Online coursework + a required 4-day on-campus residency | $695/unit | — | Yes | |
| Daybreak UniversityAnaheim / online | not published | not published | 90 units | ~2–3 years | Online via Zoom; face-to-face and hybrid also available; 10-week terms, twice weekly 3-hour classes | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| Dominican University of CaliforniaSan Rafael | Program places you | not published | 43 units base MS; 60 units with MFT and/or PCC concentration | 30–36 months | In-person; part-time, full-time, evening and weekend options | $83,882 | — | Yes | |
| Fresno Pacific UniversityFresno | You apply, with help | not published | 65 units minimum | Three-year or four-year pathway | On-campus (Fresno main campus), some online courses | $610/unit | — | No | |
| Fuller Theological SeminaryPasadena (also an Arizona campus) | not published | not published | 98 quarter units standard track; 100 quarter units LPCC track (Pasadena only) | Two-year full-time track (14–16 units per quarter) or three-year track; both offered at Pasadena and Phoenix | not published | $540/unit | — | Yes | |
| Golden Gate UniversitySan Francisco / online | not published | Not required | 60 credits | As few as 2.5 years full-time; part-time available | Online or hybrid | $1,090/unit | — | Yes | |
| HIS UniversityBrea | You find your own | not published | 67 units | not published | not published | not published | — | No | |
| Hope International UniversityFullerton | You apply, with help | not published | MA: 60 units | MA: 2–3 years | On-ground; morning, afternoon and evening courses in 8–16 week sessions | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| Jessup UniversityRocklin | not published | not published | 63 units | 26 months | In person at Rocklin and San Jose, with a fully remote option for California residents | not published | — | Yes | |
| Kaiser Permanente School of Allied Health SciencesRichmond (also San Mateo and Lathrop) | Program places you | Not required | 90 quarter credits | 24 months, eight quarters, full time | Hybrid — two afternoons or evenings a week, one in person and one online; clinical hours in business hours | $38,970 | — | No | |
| La Sierra UniversityRiverside | not published | not published | 96 quarter units (~64 semester) | not published | not published | $730/unit | — | Yes | |
| Life Pacific UniversitySan Dimas | not published | not published | 63 units | 21 courses plus a 12-month practicum | Online, synchronous and asynchronous, in 8-week terms | not published | — | Yes | |
| Loma Linda UniversityLoma Linda | You apply, with help | Not required | Quarter system; totals not published on the pages checked | MS: 2 years. DMFT: 3 years. | MS: campus-based or online. DMFT: online, blended synchronous + asynchronous. | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| Loyola Marymount UniversityLos Angeles | Program places you | Not required | 57-60 semester units | not published | not published | $1,814/unit | — | Yes | |
| Meridian UniversityPetaluma / Los Angeles campus + online | You find your own | not published | 103 quarter credits (~69 semester) | 24–36 months | Hybrid and online | $676/unit | — | Yes | |
| Mount Saint Mary's UniversityLos Angeles | You apply, with help | Not required | 60 units | 2 years (daytime) or 3 years (evening) | Hybrid; the Enlaces! certificate track is also available fully online (synchronous evenings, 3 years) | $1,210/unit | — | Yes | |
| National University (absorbed Northcentral University and John F. Kennedy University)San Diego / online | You apply, with help | Not required | MAMFT: minimum 45 semester credit hours, up to 60 for licensure requirements in some states | ~33 months average | Online with local in-person practicum/internship | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| Northwestern University, The Family InstituteEvanston, IL / online | Program places you | Not required | 25 Northwestern quarter units (26 courses) | not published | Two COAMFTE-accredited branches: on-campus Evanston, and online | not published | Yes | not published | |
| Notre Dame de Namur UniversityBelmont | not published | Not required | 60 units | 2–3 years | In-person, synchronous online, and asynchronous online; part-time or full-time; late afternoon, evening, weekends | not published | — | Yes | |
| Pacific Oaks CollegePasadena | You apply, with help | not published | 60 credits (LPCC specialization adds 5 credits) | 2.5 years full-time / 4 years part-time | On-campus, not offered online | not published | — | Yes | |
| Pacifica Graduate InstituteCarpinteria / Santa Barbara | You find your own | Not required | 93 quarter units | 2.5 years (10 quarters) | Residential low-residency — three-day monthly sessions plus seven-day summer sessions in years 1 and 2; four track options (weekend and weekday) | $70,000 | — | Yes | |
| Palo Alto UniversityPalo Alto | You apply, with help | Not required | Quarter system; 4.5 quarter units per course; total not stated | 9 quarters (~2 years) | Residential hybrid (weekday evenings, on-campus or Zoom) OR distance/online (live Zoom + two in-person residencies) | not published | — | Yes | |
| Pepperdine University (GSEP)West Los Angeles / Irvine / Calabasas / online | You apply, with help | Required, waivable | 60–66 units (on-ground); 68 units (online) | 2.5–3 years | Evening on-campus at 3 sites, daytime format at West LA, and fully online | $140,080 | — | Yes | |
| Point Loma Nazarene UniversitySan Diego (Mission Valley Regional Center) | You apply, with help | not published | 63 units | 24 months (fall start) or 32 months (spring start) | Face-to-face, two nights/week | $848/unit | — | Yes | |
| Rhombus UniversityLa Mesa | You find your own | Required | 60 units | 2–3 years | Online and self-paced | not published | — | Yes | |
| Saint Mary's College of CaliforniaMoraga | You apply, with help | Not required | 68 units minimum (40 core + 28 specialization); 81 units with dual School Counseling specialization | 3–5 year plans of study | Classroom + weekly seminars + fieldwork | $1,180/unit | — | Yes | |
| San Diego State UniversitySan Diego | not published | Not required | 60 semester units | 2.5 years incl. three summers | On-campus, cohort, classes ≤30 students | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| San Francisco State UniversitySan Francisco | You apply, with help | Not required | 60 units min | Published 2-year and 3-year roadmaps; department-reported average time to degree is 2.9 years (range 2–7). | In-person | not published | — | Yes | |
| San Jose State UniversitySan Jose | You find your own | Not required | 60 semester units | not published | not published | not published | — | Yes | |
| Santa Clara UniversitySanta Clara | You apply, with help | not published | 90 quarter units; 91.5–93 quarter units for joint MFT/LPCC | 3 years | In-person + online; full- and part-time pathways | $726/unit | — | Yes | |
| Sentio UniversityLos Angeles (residencies) / hybrid | Seat guaranteed | Not required | 60 credits | 20 months (5 semesters) | Hybrid — online coursework + in-person LA residencies | $67,200 | — | No | |
| Simpson UniversityRedding | not published | Not required | 67.5 units | 2 years | In class two nights a week, in 7-week terms | not published | — | Yes | |
| Sofia UniversityPalo Alto | You find your own | not published | 90–97.5 quarter units depending on concentration | 3 years | Online + low-residency (two 10-day intensives per year — one in-person on campus at the start of Fall, one virtual synchronous at the start of Spring) | $663/unit | — | Yes | |
| Sonoma State UniversityRohnert Park | You apply, with help | not published | 60 units | 2-year or 2.5-year plans | On-campus with field experience | not published | — | Yes | |
| Southern California SeminaryEl Cajon | not published | not published | 72 units | not published | On campus, with online options | not published | — | Yes | |
| The Chicago SchoolLos Angeles, Anaheim, Online | You apply, with help | Not required | not published | MA: 3 years (fall start) | In-person and online, with two mandatory residencies in Southern California | not published | Yes | Yes | |
| The Wright InstituteBerkeley | You apply, with help | Not required | 60 credit units | 2 years as designed; 3-year option available by deferring practicum | Cohort model; daytime and weekend schedules | $78,600 | — | Yes | |
| Touro University WorldwideLos Alamitos / online | You find your own | Not required | 72 semester credit hours (18 courses = 54 cr + 6 practicum courses = 18 cr) | not published | 100% online, 8-week modules | $37,800 | Yes | Yes | |
| University of La VerneLa Verne | not published | not published | 61 units (page also references '62-credit program' — internally inconsistent) | ~3 years full-time | In-person, Mon/Wed late afternoon (4:00–6:25) or evening (6:50–9:15) | $990/unit | — | No | |
| University of Massachusetts Global (formerly Brandman)Online — BBS lists 'California campus only' | You find your own | Not required | 69 credits | not published | Online coursework + 400 supervised in-person practicum hours; 8-week sessions, six start dates/year | not published | — | Yes | |
| University of PhoenixOnline (Phoenix, AZ; enrollment restricted to California residents) | You find your own | Not required | 60 credits | not published | Fully online and asynchronous, in 5–6 week courses | not published | — | Yes | |
| University of RedlandsRedlands | You apply, with help | not published | 60 units, 66 with the MFT specialization | not published | On campus | $932/unit | — | Yes | |
| University of San Diego (SOLES)San Diego | You apply, with help | Not required | 60 units | not published | not published | $105,060 | Yes | Yes | |
| University of San FranciscoSan Francisco (also Sacramento campus) | not published | Not required | 60 units | not published | not published | $81,000 | — | Yes | |
| University of Southern California (Rossier)Los Angeles | not published | Not required | 60 units | 24 months full-time | On-campus OR online (synchronous) | $152,340 | — | No | |
| University of the Pacific (Benerd College)Stockton | not published | not published | 62 units | 2 years | Flexible hybrid — online and in-classroom | $1,244/unit | — | Yes | |
| University of the WestRosemead | not published | not published | 63 units | 2.5–3 years | In-person; Fall and Spring starts | $765/unit | — | No | |
| Vanguard UniversityCosta Mesa | You apply, with help | not published | 61–66 units | 2–4 years (3-year track most popular) | On-campus (16-week courses) and online (8-week courses) | $855/unit | — | Yes | |
| Weimar UniversityWeimar | not published | not published | 60 units | 2 years full time | Online only | not published | — | Yes | |
| Western Institute for Social ResearchBerkeley | You find your own | not published | not published | 2–6 years | Online | not published | — | Yes | |
| Western SeminarySan Jose | You find your own | not published | 71 credits | About 3 years (minimum 2 years 8 months) | Primarily in person, with 10 credits available online | not published | — | Yes |
Same seventy-eight records as the cards, one row each. Deliberately not sortable: forty-six schools publish no tuition, and a column sorted on a figure most of them do not have would order the page by who answers a question rather than by anything about the degrees.
Not about one school — about accreditation, debt, practicum risk and whether the route is worth walking at all.
Searched by every name variant across Reddit, Student Doctor Network and The GradCafe. Silence is not a verdict — several of these are small, and two have closed — but a missing link should not read as an endorsement, so they are named.
Phillips Graduate InstituteSofia UniversityMount Saint Mary's UniversityNotre Dame de Namur UniversityLoyola Marymount UniversityJohn F. Kennedy UniversityNational UniversityCalifornia State University, BakersfieldCalifornia State University, StanislausCalifornia State University, San BernardinoCalifornia State University, Fresno (Fresno State)California State University, SacramentoCalifornia State University, ChicoSonoma State UniversityCal Poly HumboldtCalifornia State University, Fullerton (University Extension)California State University, Los AngelesCalifornia State University, Dominguez Hillsr/psychotherapy is now private and r/mft has been banned. Both carried good California threads; nine of them had to be dropped because they no longer resolve.
Tuition is never estimated. 35 institutions publish a per-unit or total figure and it is shown with the year and a link to the page it came from. The other 43 say not published. A prospective student comparing a $37,800 program against a $152,340 one deserves to know which figure came from the institution and which came from me. None came from me.
The LPCC column is the Board’s answer, not the school’s. Its table names the licenses each institution is listed for, so a card says LPCC route too only where the Board’s row carries LPCC, and LMFT only where it does not. Where a school adds a condition of its own — a campus, a format, an extra emphasis — the condition is printed under the card in the school’s own terms. The Board lists institutions rather than programs, so a school listed for both may open the LPCC route through a different degree than the one shown here; that is the question to ask admissions.
Nothing is ranked. There is no score, no stars and no best-of. The one comparative fact that is objective is COAMFTE accreditation, and it is a filter rather than a verdict.
Every forum link was verified to resolve on 7 August 2026, against the host's own endpoint rather than constructed from a thread ID. Descriptions are mine; nothing is quoted beyond a phrase. Sentiment tags are my reading of the thread, not a measurement.
Accreditation status is from the COAMFTE directory; the institution list is from the BBS education resources page. Everything else is from each institution's own site. If something here is wrong, tell me — that is what the page is for.
Where you are on the path
11 other pages on this site are written for this stage. Next, most people read: what the whole route actually takes · what the work pays at the end · what the license itself costs.
Everything for this stage →The route to LMFT, and how long it really takes.
Public verification record
Checked . Scheduled review by ; sooner if Board education-resource revision, institution closure, program-status change, or monthly checkpoint.
Maintained evidence behind this page
If a watched source changes, these dependencies put this page into the correction review before a material update can ship.
Seventy-eight institutions, on published facts only. Degree, units, length, format, accreditation and cost, next to what students and graduates actually say in public.
Once a month: free tools and apps worth having, better ways to run the admin side of a practice, what other California therapists are actually doing, and anything new here that might save you an afternoon.