California · Board of Behavioral Sciences
BBS fees halved in July. The route now costs $575 to $875.
Every Board fee halved on 1 July 2026. What the whole route costs still depends on one thing nobody writes down — how many years you spend as an associate. Here is the arithmetic, and the reversion date that ends it.
Start with the answer →Which reduced BBS fee applies to you?
The temporary schedule runs from 1 July 2026 through 30 June 2030. Choose the transaction, not just the license type.
The Board's general manage-license page still displays the older schedule. The linked fee-reduction FAQ is newer, transaction-specific, and states its effective dates.
What changed
If you have looked up the cost of getting licensed in California in the past few weeks, there is a fair chance you were quoted a number that is no longer true. The Board of Behavioral Sciences reduced almost every fee it charges, effective 1 July 2026. The reduction is temporary and runs to 30 June 2030.[1]
| Fee | Was | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Registration application — AMFT, ASW, APCC | $150 | $75 |
| Annual renewal — AMFT, ASW, APCC | $150 | $75 |
| California Law & Ethics exam | $150 | $75 |
| License application | $250 | $125 |
| LMFT clinical exam | $250 | $125 |
| Initial license issuance | $200 | $100 |
| Biennial renewal, active | $200 | $100 |
| Biennial renewal, inactive | $100 | $50 |
Now the part every version of this article gets wrong, including an earlier version of this one. There is no single number, because the fees you pay once are not the whole bill. Five of them you pay exactly once:
| Paid once | Amount |
|---|---|
| Registration application | $75 |
| California Law & Ethics exam | $75 |
| License application | $125 |
| LMFT clinical exam | $125 |
| Initial license issuance | $100 |
| Subtotal | $500 |
Your registration then runs for one year from the last day of the month it was issued — that first year is already inside the $75 you just paid. Every year after it is another $75, and you may renew five times before the registration cancels at six years — six times and seven years from 1 January 2027, under AB 1598.[3] So the answer is a line, not a point:
| Time as an associate | Renewals | Total Board fees |
|---|---|---|
| Under a year | 0 | $500 |
| 1–2 years — the 104-week statutory minimum | 1 | $575 |
| 2–3 years | 2 | $650 |
| 3–4 years | 3 | $725 |
| 4–5 years | 4 | $800 |
| 5–6 years — the ceiling until 31 December 2026 | 5 | $875 |
| 6–7 years — the ceiling from 1 January 2027 | 6 | $950 |
The 3,000 hours cannot be completed in under 104 weeks, so $575 is the floor for anyone who finishes as fast as the law allows. $875 is the ceiling under the rules in force until 31 December 2026, and it is what you pay if you use the full six years; from 1 January 2027 a sixth renewal makes it $950. Most people land between. Every one of those totals is exactly half of what the same route cost before July.
Two changes, two dates. The halving above began on 1 July 2026 and is the Board’s temporary reduction. AB 1598, signed as Chapter 528, is separate: from 1 January 2027 it deletes the $20 exam rescoring fee from §4984.7, ends the yearly Law and Ethics attempt at renewal (so that $75 no longer recurs), and allows the sixth renewal. It does not change the other amounts.
Two things the headline number leaves out
First, a $20 Mental Health Practitioner Education Fund fee is not part of the reduction. It attaches to license renewal-related applications, which means it touches nothing on the road from registration to your first license — but it does make a real LMFT biennial renewal $120, not $100.[1]
Second, this is temporary. On 1 July 2030 the old schedule returns. If you are budgeting a licensure timeline that runs past that date, the back half costs double the front half.
And the law and ethics exam fee can recur: associates must take it annually until they pass in order to renew a registration, so the $75 is not necessarily a one-off.[2]
The Board contradicts itself, and that is worth knowing
If you go looking for these numbers you will find two different answers on bbs.ca.gov. The fee reduction FAQ carries the reduced schedule. The Board's own Manage License/Registration page still displays the pre-reduction table, with $150 annual renewals and $220 active renewals.
We cite the FAQ, because it is the more specific and more recent document and it states its own effective dates. But if you land on the renewal page first and see the old figures, that is why. Do not assume you have been quoted wrongly.
What is not included at all
Board fees are a small part of what pre-licensure actually costs. Not in any of the numbers above:
- Supervision, if you pay for it. Group private practice often bills it back at roughly $450 a month, which is about $5,400 a year out of your take-home — several times the entire Board fee for the year.
- Professional liability insurance.
- Continuing education. Associates need 3 hours of California law and ethics each one-year renewal period.
- Fingerprinting and duplicate documents, which the FAQ excludes from the reduction explicitly. If you are applying from outside California you also pay the Board a $49 hard-card fingerprint fee, which was not reduced.
- The clinical exam for LCSWs and LPCCs, which is administered by ASWB and NBCC respectively and priced by them, not by the Board.
One more thing worth knowing before you budget: the clinical exam fee is not billed to you later. It is collected with the license application, as a single $250 payment, so that is one bill and not two.
The fee cut is real and it is welcome. It is also, for most associates, a smaller line than one month of supervision.
The 3,000-hours page projects all four BBS requirements from the week you actually work, and names the one you are waiting on. The fee schedule below is built into it.
Open the calculator →How this regulatory page was reviewed
- The current California BBS applicant, renewal, or continuing-education page was opened first.
- Every form, fee, hour total, deadline, and exception was checked against a Board page or Board PDF dated or live on 24 August 2026.
- A Board page that still shows the older fee schedule is identified as stale; the specific July 2026 fee-reduction FAQ controls the figures shown here.
- When the Board does not state an answer, this page says not stated instead of estimating it.
- Readers are linked to the source and told to use the current form rather than a saved copy.
Sources
- BBS Temporary Fee Reduction FAQ — effective 1 July 2026 through 30 June 2030; the full reduced schedule; the $20 Mental Health Practitioner Education Fund fee is not reduced; fingerprint and duplicate document fees excluded
- BBS — California Law and Ethics Exam — “Exam must be TAKEN annually, until passed, to renew an Associate Registration”
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §4984.01 — a registration expires one year from the last day of the month in which it was issued, and may be renewed a maximum of five times — six years in total; from 1 January 2027, as amended by AB 1598 (Chapter 528, Statutes of 2026), six times and seven years
Every figure here is either computed by the calculator linked above from numbers you enter, or quoted from the source named beside it. Nothing on this page is illustrative. This is not legal, tax or financial advice, and reading it does not create a professional relationship.