California MFT programs › Bay Area

Bay Area · California LMFT path

MFT programs in the Bay Area, compared on the things that change the path.

There are 15 Board-listed graduate programs in San Francisco, the East Bay, the Peninsula, San Jose, Santa Clara, Marin and nearby communities. This comparison separates the degree from the marketing: how long it takes, whether it also opens the LPCC route, how practicum placement works, and what tuition the school actually publishes.

In short

Which Bay Area MFT program fits the path I am actually on?

15 Board-listed Bay Area programs compared on degree, length, format, tuition, practicum support, COAMFTE status and LPCC eligibility

15 programs
15Bay Area programs compared
0COAMFTE-accredited
15also publish an LPCC route
4publish an in-house clinic

Start with four questions, not a ranking.

  1. Will the degree qualify for California LMFT registration? Confirm the exact degree and curriculum against the current BBS school list.
  2. Who secures the practicum? A guaranteed or school-arranged seat can matter more than a one-semester difference in course length.
  3. Do you want license portability? COAMFTE accreditation is distinct from California BBS eligibility and can matter if you later move.
  4. What is the full cost? Compare tuition, fees, commuting, reduced work hours and the time it may take to secure clinical placement.

The programs

Fifteen Bay Area routes toward an LMFT.

California Institute of Integral Studies

San Francisco

LMFT + LPCC routeOwn training clinic
Degree
M.A. in Counseling Psychology — Integral Counseling Psychology (M.A.-C.P.)
Units
60 units (LMFT track); 70 units (LPCC track)
Length
3 years (7 semesters)
Format
On-campus weekday; on-campus weekend (5 weekends/semester); hybrid online
Practicum placement
You apply, with help
Published tuition
$1,449.0 per unit · 2026-27

Integral/holistic, spiritual and multicultural orientation. CIIS also runs other counseling MAs (e.g. Somatic, Expressive Arts, Community Mental Health) not individually verified here.

Check the program details →

California State University, East Bay

Hayward

LMFT + LPCC routeOwn training clinic
Degree
M.S. in Counseling Psychology, Marriage and Family Therapy Concentration
Units
Not published
Length
2 years (~5 semesters)
Format
Full-time cohort, Hayward campus only; day, evening, some weekends
Practicum placement
Not published
Published tuition
Not published

Additional units may be needed for LPCC

Check the program details →

Dominican University of California

San Rafael

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.S. in Counseling Psychology with MFT and/or PCC concentration
Units
43 units base MS; 60 units with MFT and/or PCC concentration
Length
30–36 months
Format
In-person; part-time, full-time, evening and weekend options
Practicum placement
Program places you
Published tuition
$83,882.0 total · 2026-27

Max 20 students per class; 50+ community agency practicum partners; all faculty are practicing clinicians

Check the program details →

Golden Gate University

San Francisco / online

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.A. in Counseling Psychology
Units
60 credits
Length
As few as 2.5 years full-time; part-time available
Format
Online or hybrid
Practicum placement
Not published
Published tuition
$1,090.0 per unit

Requires 300 face-to-face clinical hours plus a 50-hour personal psychotherapy requirement

Check the program details →

Notre Dame de Namur University

Belmont

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.S. in Clinical Psychology / Marriage & Family Therapist (MS CP/MFT)
Units
60 units
Length
2–3 years
Format
In-person, synchronous online, and asynchronous online; part-time or full-time; late afternoon, evening, weekends
Practicum placement
Not published
Published tuition
Not published

No additional differentiator published.

Check the program details →

Palo Alto University

Palo Alto

LMFT + LPCC routeOwn training clinic
Degree
M.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (CMHC), with an MFCC emphasis option
Units
Quarter system; 4.5 quarter units per course; total not stated
Length
9 quarters (~2 years)
Format
Residential hybrid (weekday evenings, on-campus or Zoom) OR distance/online (live Zoom + two in-person residencies)
Practicum placement
You apply, with help
Published tuition
Not published

No additional differentiator published.

Check the program details →

Saint Mary's College of California

Moraga

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.A. in Counseling, Marriage & Family Therapy / Professional Clinical Counseling (MFT/PCC) specialization
Units
68 units minimum (40 core + 28 specialization); 81 units with dual School Counseling specialization
Length
3–5 year plans of study
Format
Classroom + weekly seminars + fieldwork
Practicum placement
You apply, with help
Published tuition
$1,180.0 per unit · 2026-27

Dual specialization option adds the PPS credential

Check the program details →

San Francisco State University

San Francisco

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.S. in Counseling: Concentration in Marriage, Family, and Child Counseling
Units
60 units min
Length
Published 2-year and 3-year roadmaps; department-reported average time to degree is 2.9 years (range 2–7).
Format
In-person
Practicum placement
You apply, with help
Published tuition
Not published

No additional differentiator published.

Check the program details →

San Jose State University

San Jose

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.S. in Clinical Psychology
Units
60 semester units
Length
Not published
Format
Not published
Practicum placement
You find your own
Published tuition
Not published

Explicitly BBS-approved for CA MFT; program states it has made no determination of licensure eligibility in any state other than California

Check the program details →

Santa Clara University

Santa Clara

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.A. in Counseling Psychology (MFT track; LPCC track; joint MFT/LPCC track)
Units
90 quarter units; 91.5–93 quarter units for joint MFT/LPCC
Length
3 years
Format
In-person + online; full- and part-time pathways
Practicum placement
You apply, with help
Published tuition
$726.0 per unit

Emphases: Latino Counseling, LGBTQ Counseling, Health Psychology, Correctional Psychology, Child & Adolescent Mental Health

Check the program details →

Sofia University

Palo Alto

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.A. in Counseling Psychology (MACP)
Units
90–97.5 quarter units depending on concentration
Length
3 years
Format
Online + low-residency (two 10-day intensives per year — one in-person on campus at the start of Fall, one virtual synchronous at the start of Spring)
Practicum placement
You find your own
Published tuition
$663.0 per unit · 2025-26

Creative Expression Concentration (21 units); transpersonal psychology heritage

Check the program details →

The Wright Institute

Berkeley

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.A. in Counseling Psychology
Units
60 credit units
Length
2 years as designed; 3-year option available by deferring practicum
Format
Cohort model; daytime and weekend schedules
Practicum placement
You apply, with help
Published tuition
$78,600.0 total · 2026-27

Cultural competency and social justice emphasis. Note: students who defer practicum are not eligible for federal loans in year 3.

Check the program details →

University of San Francisco

San Francisco (also Sacramento campus)

LMFT + LPCC routeOwn training clinic
Degree
M.A. in Counseling Psychology, Marriage and Family Therapy Concentration
Units
60 units
Length
Not published
Format
Not published
Practicum placement
Not published
Published tuition
$81,000.0 total · 2026-27

No additional differentiator published.

Check the program details →

Western Institute for Social Research

Berkeley

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.S. in Psychology, Marriage and Family Therapy
Units
Not published
Length
2–6 years
Format
Online
Practicum placement
You find your own
Published tuition
Not published

Tuition is $9,600 a year, charged as an annual subscription rather than per unit — on any ordinary completion timeline that makes it by a wide margin the cheapest LMFT-qualifying degree on the Board’s list. Two things to weigh against that. It is accredited by DEAC, a national rather than a regional accreditor, which is the distinction that decides whether a degree travels. And the unit count is not on the website; it is in the June 2026 catalog PDF. Non-profit, founded 1975.

Check the program details →

Western Seminary

San Jose

LMFT + LPCC route
Degree
M.A. in Counseling, Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling specialization
Units
71 credits
Length
About 3 years (minimum 2 years 8 months)
Format
Primarily in person, with 10 credits available online
Practicum placement
You find your own
Published tuition
Not published

Board-approved since 1992, and the page states it satisfies both the AMFT/LMFT and APCC/LPCC registration paths. The seminary is Oregon-based; the California counseling degree is delivered from the San Jose campus, which is what the Board lists.

Check the program details →

How this page is built

The school set is the Bay Area subset of the statewide California MFT directory. Degree, unit, length, format, placement and tuition fields come from each institution’s public program page, catalog or handbook and are retained as “not published” when the school does not state them. The BBS list determines California educational eligibility; COAMFTE is shown separately because it answers a different question about accreditation and portability. Verify current requirements with the California Board of Behavioral Sciences before enrolling.

Source notes

Use the citations and any dated evidence records to check the claims relevant to your task. This label is not a verification status.

You should not have to work this part out on your own.

Once a month: free tools and apps worth having, better ways to run the admin side of a practice, what other California therapists are actually doing, and anything new here that might save you an afternoon.

About monthly. One click to leave. Never sold, never shared. The consent box is separate and unticked because California requires it — and because it should be.