What this program actually is
Board-approved since 1992, and the page states it satisfies both the AMFT/LMFT and APCC/LPCC registration paths. The seminary is Oregon-based; the California counseling degree is delivered from the San Jose campus, which is what the Board lists.
The decision facts that are public are collected below; anything the school does not disclose is listed as a question rather than estimated.
How practicum actually works
Californian clinical training runs in two legally distinct stages, and the difference decides what a program can and cannot do for you.
A trainee is a student. You see clients while still enrolled, at a site your program approves, supervised by someone the site provides. This is practicum, and it is the stage a program controls. An associate — registered with the Board after you graduate — is no longer a student, is usually paid, and is working toward the 3,000 hours the license requires. The Board renamed this stage from “intern” to “associate” in 2018, so any page still saying “MFT intern” is quoting something out of date.
Hours you bank as a trainee count toward the 3,000, up to a limit, which is why the size and quality of a program’s placement matters long after graduation: a student who leaves with 1,000 hours starts the associate years a third of the way through them, and one who leaves with the 225-hour minimum starts at the beginning.
Practicum is also where a degree most often stops being on schedule. Coursework runs on a calendar the school controls; placement does not. The questions that matter are therefore all about who owns the problem of finding you a site — and the answer differs enormously between programs on this list.
What happens after the degree →
You find your own site
Securing a placement is your responsibility. A student who cannot find a site cannot graduate, and that risk is highest if you are rural, studying online, or need Spanish-language or specialty hours.
It is the student's responsibility to find a Practicum/Internship placement. However, we are continuously expanding our resources to better assist students in this process. The Counseling Program Administrative Assistant and the Field Placement Coordinator are available to assist you in finding a Practicum/Internship placement to begin CN/CM 530. the school’s own page →
Will this degree travel
Not COAMFTE accredited
That is not a defect — 66 of the 77 institutions on the Board’s list are in the same position, including most of the Cal States, and their graduates license in California every year.
It becomes a problem if you leave. Several states will not accept a non-COAMFTE degree without remedial coursework, and a few will not accept it at all. If there is any chance you move, check the destination board’s rules before you enroll, not after.
What the Board requires of any qualifying degree →
What it is, on paper
Board-approved since 1992, and the page states it satisfies both the AMFT/LMFT and APCC/LPCC registration paths. The seminary is Oregon-based; the California counseling degree is delivered from the San Jose campus, which is what the Board lists.
What it costs
This program does not publish a tuition figure anywhere I could find it. 42 of the 77 on the Board’s list are the same. That is a fair thing to ask admissions directly, and the speed and specificity of the answer tells you something on its own.
What a month costs to live on while you study →
Getting in
A cumulative undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher source →
The school contradicts itself here
The program page says 280 direct hours; the practicum manual, dated 2019, says 225 for the LMFT track.
Student reality
This section separates independent experience from school-produced material. Video labels describe who produced or appears in the video; positive and critical tags are editorial readings, not ratings.
No credible school-specific public account was found. The search covered school-name variants across Reddit, Student Doctor Network, The GradCafe and YouTube. Silence is not an endorsement or a criticism; small and newer programs often leave very little public trace.
What to ask before you apply
None of these are answered on a program page, and all five change what the degree is actually worth to you.
The single question that separates programs. Ask for a list of current sites, and ask plainly whether the program places you or expects you to find your own. A rural or online student unable to find a site cannot graduate.
The Board publishes this by school, so the program cannot be the only source. Ask anyway, and see whether the answer matches.
Per-unit rates move. Multiply by the actual unit count and add campus fees before comparing anything.
The 500 couples-and-families hours are carved out of the 1,750 clinical ones, and they are the category associates most often finish short on. A program placing students in adult individual settings will not generate them.
Sometimes yes, sometimes with extra units, sometimes only in one delivery format. Get it in writing rather than from a brochure.
What I could not establish
Everything above is sourced. These are the things I looked for and could not establish - take them to admissions, and note how quickly and precisely they answer.
- Application deadline and fee were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
- Cohort and typical class size were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
- Scholarships and graduate assistantships were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
- Graduation and licensure-exam outcomes were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
- The required mix of synchronous and asynchronous attendance was not clear.