Berkeley

Western Institute for Social Research

M.S. in Psychology, Marriage and Family Therapy, in Berkeley. What the program publishes about itself, what its accreditation means for where you can practice, and what students and graduates say in public.

CaliforniaBBS-listed

In short

What it costs, how practicum works, and what people say

M.S. in Psychology, Marriage and Family
BBS-listedaccreditation status
COAMFTEno
FormatOnline
Discussion foundnone

What this program actually is

Tuition is $9,600 a year, charged as an annual subscription rather than per unit — on any ordinary completion timeline that makes it by a wide margin the cheapest LMFT-qualifying degree on the Board’s list. Two things to weigh against that. It is accredited by DEAC, a national rather than a regional accreditor, which is the distinction that decides whether a degree travels. And the unit count is not on the website; it is in the June 2026 catalog PDF. Non-profit, founded 1975.

The decision facts that are public are collected below; anything the school does not disclose is listed as a question rather than estimated.

The program’s own page →

How practicum actually works

Californian clinical training runs in two legally distinct stages, and the difference decides what a program can and cannot do for you.

A trainee is a student. You see clients while still enrolled, at a site your program approves, supervised by someone the site provides. This is practicum, and it is the stage a program controls. An associate — registered with the Board after you graduate — is no longer a student, is usually paid, and is working toward the 3,000 hours the license requires. The Board renamed this stage from “intern” to “associate” in 2018, so any page still saying “MFT intern” is quoting something out of date.

Hours you bank as a trainee count toward the 3,000, up to a limit, which is why the size and quality of a program’s placement matters long after graduation: a student who leaves with 1,000 hours starts the associate years a third of the way through them, and one who leaves with the 225-hour minimum starts at the beginning.

Practicum is also where a degree most often stops being on schedule. Coursework runs on a calendar the school controls; placement does not. The questions that matter are therefore all about who owns the problem of finding you a site — and the answer differs enormously between programs on this list.

What happens after the degree →

You find your own site

Securing a placement is your responsibility. A student who cannot find a site cannot graduate, and that risk is highest if you are rural, studying online, or need Spanish-language or specialty hours.

WISR Faculty believe that it is in each student's interest that they take responsibility for seeking out and establishing a Practicum site (necessary to their fulfillling the Practicum Requirement at WISR). the school’s own page →
Hours requiredthe Practicum must include 150 hours of face-to-face/direct client counseling, and for those wishing to also qualify for the LPCC license, the Practicum must include 280 hours of face-to-face/direct client counseling
How long it runsThe course involves a minimum of 306 hours of Supervised Practicum

Will this degree travel

Not COAMFTE accredited

That is not a defect — 66 of the 77 institutions on the Board’s list are in the same position, including most of the Cal States, and their graduates license in California every year.

It becomes a problem if you leave. Several states will not accept a non-COAMFTE degree without remedial coursework, and a few will not accept it at all. If there is any chance you move, check the destination board’s rules before you enroll, not after.

What the Board requires of any qualifying degree →

What it is, on paper

DegreeM.S. in Psychology, Marriage and Family Therapy
Unitsnot published
Length2–6 years
FormatOnline
Also LPCCYes
Published tuitionnot published

Tuition is $9,600 a year, charged as an annual subscription rather than per unit — on any ordinary completion timeline that makes it by a wide margin the cheapest LMFT-qualifying degree on the Board’s list. Two things to weigh against that. It is accredited by DEAC, a national rather than a regional accreditor, which is the distinction that decides whether a degree travels. And the unit count is not on the website; it is in the June 2026 catalog PDF. Non-profit, founded 1975.

The program’s own page →

What it costs

This program does not publish a tuition figure anywhere I could find it. 42 of the 77 on the Board’s list are the same. That is a fair thing to ask admissions directly, and the speed and specificity of the answer tells you something on its own.

What a month costs to live on while you study →

Getting in

Admissions testthe school does not say
Admission Requirement: Bachelor's Degree source →

admissions page ↗

Student reality

This section separates independent experience from school-produced material. Video labels describe who produced or appears in the video; positive and critical tags are editorial readings, not ratings.

No credible school-specific public account was found. The search covered school-name variants across Reddit, Student Doctor Network, The GradCafe and YouTube. Silence is not an endorsement or a criticism; small and newer programs often leave very little public trace.

What to ask before you apply

None of these are answered on a program page, and all five change what the degree is actually worth to you.

Where do students actually get placed, and who finds the placement?

The single question that separates programs. Ask for a list of current sites, and ask plainly whether the program places you or expects you to find your own. A rural or online student unable to find a site cannot graduate.

How many of your graduates passed the clinical exam last year?

The Board publishes this by school, so the program cannot be the only source. Ask anyway, and see whether the answer matches.

What is the total cost, including fees, in the year I would start?

Per-unit rates move. Multiply by the actual unit count and add campus fees before comparing anything.

How many relational hours does a typical student leave with?

The 500 couples-and-families hours are carved out of the 1,750 clinical ones, and they are the category associates most often finish short on. A program placing students in adult individual settings will not generate them.

Does this degree also make me eligible for the LPCC?

Sometimes yes, sometimes with extra units, sometimes only in one delivery format. Get it in writing rather than from a brochure.

What I could not establish

Everything above is sourced. These are the things I looked for and could not establish - take them to admissions, and note how quickly and precisely they answer.

  • Application deadline and fee were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
  • Cohort and typical class size were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
  • Scholarships and graduate assistantships were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
  • Graduation and licensure-exam outcomes were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed.
  • The required mix of synchronous and asynchronous attendance was not clear.
Sources for this page (1)
  1. Official program page
Page date8 September 2026All updates →
Institution sourcesKnown gap

This page includes information published by the institution. Confirm current program details with the institution and its linked approval sources.

You should not have to work this part out on your own.

Once a month: free tools and apps worth having, better ways to run the admin side of a practice, what other California therapists are actually doing, and anything new here that might save you an afternoon.

About monthly. One click to leave. Never sold, never shared. The consent box is separate and unticked because California requires it — and because it should be.