Bay Area organization profile · Published clinical training program · evidence not stated · read 20 August 2026

Bay Area Gestalt Institute.

In short

A Gestalt-focused post-practicum AMFT/APCC/ASW community with training and private-practice infrastructure, but self-arranged supervision and no published income guarantee

20-35 members; three Monday commitments most months

San Francisco, Oakland & virtual · Bay Area — what the organization is, what its own site publishes about clinical training, and the questions to bring. Every fact below was read from a fetched page on the date above, and each one links the page it came from. Nothing here says what is available today — sites change; the organization answers that.

What it isHow the program worksWhat its site publishesThe questions to bringSources

What it is

The organization, from its own site.

A volunteer-run nonprofit collective of licensed and associate psychotherapists organized around Gestalt psychotherapy. BAGI says it normally comprises 20–35 members, provides psychotherapy throughout the Bay Area, teaches Gestalt, and models collective, non-hierarchical decision-making rather than a conventional clinic hierarchy.

Its site: bagisf.org.

The structure behind the listing

How this program actually works.

It is an associateship, not a first practicum.

The entry threshold matters: registration with the California BBS, one year of work after practicum, and evidence of a serious Gestalt interest. That evidence may come from a Gestalt associateship, process group, supervisor, therapist or other Gestalt activity. A graduate student seeking a first placement does not meet the published prerequisites.

The program is therefore best understood as a bridge between early community-agency experience and a Gestalt-centered private practice, not as a school-arranged trainee placement.

The calendar is a recurring professional community.

The published rhythm is the first Monday, 11 a.m.–2 p.m., for the community meeting; the second Monday, 11 a.m.–2 p.m., for process group; and the fourth Monday, 11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m., for training. Members also attend an overnight spring retreat and a day-long fall retreat and co-facilitate one or two meetings a year.

Each associate participates in two committees, with the application packet giving five hours a month as a guideline. The program asks for community labor and shared governance in addition to clinical work.

What BAGI provides—and what it does not take over.

BAGI provides organizational infrastructure, liability coverage for office slip-and-fall risk, an institute web presence, referrals, monthly training, Gestalt-community networking and a supervisor list.

The associate remains responsible for finding an approved Gestalt-familiar supervisor, obtaining professional malpractice insurance, renting or subletting an office for in-person work, marketing beyond BAGI, building a client practice, paying monthly dues and filing bimonthly accounting spreadsheets. The packet does not state that BAGI pays for supervision or guarantees referrals.

The clinical orientation is experiential and relational.

BAGI describes Gestalt as holistic, present-centered and process-focused. Its therapists attend to moment-to-moment thoughts, sensations, feelings and fantasies and may use activities, experiments and movement to deepen awareness rather than relying mainly on explanation or interpretation.

Its teaching materials place Gestalt in existential, phenomenological, humanistic, somatic and contemplative traditions. BAGI also describes anti-racism, rupture and repair, positionality and non-hierarchical community as part of the organizational practice—not merely course topics.

The 2026 application is a fit process, not a résumé screen alone.

Applicants attend an information meeting, submit written responses, join a group interview and complete an individual interview. The questions ask about Gestalt experience, private-practice plans, community contribution, obstacles to participation, rupture and repair, and anti-racism.

The packet requires physical Bay Area practice for at least the first year before a member may be considered for participation from elsewhere. Hybrid attendance does not make the first year location-independent.

Costs and earnings that remain unstated.

The institute publishes monthly dues as an obligation but not the amount. It does not publish supervision rates, office rent, a client minimum, a guaranteed referral volume, employee wage, fee split, benefits or expected annual income. Those are application-stage questions, not numbers to infer.

For client-facing context, BAGI currently publishes therapy fees generally around $100–$200 for a 50-minute session and says some therapists reserve reduced-fee spaces. That is a client fee range, not associate pay.

What its site publishes about training

A program its own pages describe.

Each statement below is what the organization’s own site said on 20 August 2026, with the page it said it on. A program existing on a page is not a seat existing today — the page is where you check.

The 2026 associate program is limited to California-registered AMFTs, APCCs and ASWs who will have completed one year of post-practicum work by entry and can demonstrate prior engagement with Gestalt therapy. The page that says so →

Membership begins in September, requires at least a one-year commitment and may continue after licensure. Members meet on Mondays for a monthly community meeting, process group and training, plus two retreats a year. The page that says so →

BAGI supplies administrative infrastructure, an online profile, general-line and website referrals, training, networking and a list of Gestalt-familiar supervisors. Associates arrange their own approved supervisor, office if in person, malpractice coverage, marketing and client practice. The page that says so →

The packet says the infrastructure can let associates earn income as employees or participate as volunteers who can spend pre-tax income on educational expenses. It publishes no wage, guaranteed caseload, income floor, dues amount or supervision price. The page that says so →

For 2026, applications were due February 16, interviews ran in March, decisions were scheduled for April 6, onboarding for July and August, client work from September 1 and the first community meeting September 14. The page that says so →

Before you write to anyone

The three questions that protect your hours.

A trainee cannot count hours from a private practice or a professional corporation — § 4980.43.3 draws that line, and the trainee rules page walks all seven of the rules that decide whether a placement counts. A registered associate has a wider map; both start from the same three questions: who signs the supervision paperwork and on what schedule, which settings the hours would come from, and — for a trainee — whether your program’s site agreement exists yet, because § 4980.42 puts that agreement on your school, not on you.

The whole search method — whose job the search is, the order that saves cycles, and the paper trail to keep — is on the how-to-find-a-practicum-site page. This profile is one shelf of it; the full Bay Area shelves are the practicum-sites directory and the associate-employers directory.

Where every figure came from

Sources.

This profile records what the organization’s own site published on the read date, and nothing else. It is not a statement about today, it is not an endorsement, and it is not legal advice. Sites change; the links above are where to check.

Source notes

Use the citations and any dated evidence records to check the claims relevant to your task. This label is not a verification status.

You should not have to work this part out on your own.

Once a month: free tools and apps worth having, better ways to run the admin side of a practice, what other California therapists are actually doing, and anything new here that might save you an afternoon.

About monthly. One click to leave. Never sold, never shared. The consent box is separate and unticked because California requires it — and because it should be.