California LMFT licensure

Renew the license, not just the fee

In short

Editorial review: 24 August 2026Primary sources checkedOpen the controlling source ↗
What do I have to do to renew my California LMFT license?

The deadline, the continuing-education record, the active-versus-inactive choice, and the proof to keep afterward

36 CE hours

The deadline, continuing-education record, active-versus-inactive choice and proof to retain after the Board processes the renewal.

Biennial LMFT renewalCalifornia BBSChecked 22 August 2026

California BBS renewal task center

Use the page for the task in front of you; renewal fees, CE compliance, and an AMFT annual renewal are different workflows.

What does California require?

A California LMFT normally renews every two years. Active renewal requires the current renewal application and fee plus completion of the applicable continuing-education requirements during the renewal period.

LMFT renewal checklist

  1. Confirm the expiration date in the Board’s public license lookup.
  2. Decide whether the license should remain active or become inactive.
  3. Audit the CE record before making the renewal attestation.
  4. Confirm required subject areas and first-renewal exceptions.
  5. Renew online early enough to resolve account or payment problems.
  6. Save the confirmation and recheck the public expiration date.
  7. Retain completion certificates for the Board’s required period.

The 36-hour continuing-education system

The standard active-license cycle is 36 hours, but required topics, provider eligibility, timing and first-renewal rules determine whether a certificate actually counts. The complete California LMFT CE guide covers the audit risks and records.

Do not count a course merely because it says “CE.” Confirm the provider route, license applicability, completion date and required subject before relying on it.

Late renewal and inactive status

The Board charges delinquency amounts after expiration. An inactive license has different fees and restrictions and does not authorize active practice. Do not continue practicing simply because a late-renewal application has been submitted; verify the current public status first.

Fees were affected by California’s temporary 2026 reduction, so calculate the applicable amount on the current BBS fee page rather than copying an older renewal table.

How this regulatory page was reviewed
  • The current California BBS applicant, renewal, or continuing-education page was opened first.
  • Every form, fee, hour total, deadline, and exception was checked against a Board page or Board PDF dated or live on 24 August 2026.
  • A Board page that still shows the older fee schedule is identified as stale; the specific July 2026 fee-reduction FAQ controls the figures shown here.
  • When the Board does not state an answer, this page says not stated instead of estimating it.
  • Readers are linked to the source and told to use the current form rather than a saved copy.

Primary sources

  1. California BBS: Manage License/Registration
  2. California BBS: Continuing Education
Page date1 September 2026All updates →
Source notes

Use the citations and any dated evidence records to check the claims relevant to your task. This label is not a verification status.

Active, delinquent, inactive, retired, cancelled: what each one permits

Each answer restates the Board’s Manage License/Registration page, read 3 September 2026. Fee amounts are not repeated here because that page still shows the pre-July 2026 schedule; the fee page carries the reduced figures and their source.

How early can I renew, and what happens if I am late?

Online renewal in BreEZe posts instantly; a mailed renewal takes four to six weeks. A license cannot be renewed more than 90 days before it expires. A renewal postmarked after the expiration date pays a delinquency fee, and the Board’s words are “there is no grace period.” The current amounts are on the fee page; the Board’s own manage-license page still displays the pre-July schedule.

What can I not do while delinquent?

It is illegal to practice on a delinquent license. Until it is renewed you may not provide psychotherapy outside an exempt setting, may not supervise or sign off experience hours, and may not collect payment from a client, an insurer or any third party for services performed while delinquent. Submitting a late renewal does not lift that; the renewal posting does.

What does inactive status actually allow?

The same three things are forbidden as when delinquent: no psychotherapy outside an exempt setting, no supervising or signing off hours, no collecting payment. You choose inactive on the renewal itself by marking the inactive box and paying the inactive fee. It renews every two years, needs no CE, carries no penalty, and can continue indefinitely.

How do I go from inactive back to active?

At any time: file the Inactive to Active License Status Change application, complete the CE required at the time you reactivate, and pay the remainder of the active renewal fee.

What is retired status, and is it reversible?

A retired license is never renewed and carries the same practice restrictions as inactive. It can return to active within three years of retiring - with CE, a fingerprint clearance, and a Retired to Active application and fee. Retired for three years or longer, it cannot be reactivated: a new application, current requirements and the licensing examinations again. From 1 January 2026 a license that has been expired for three years or less no longer has to be brought current before retiring.

When does a license disappear altogether?

A license not renewed within three years after its expiration date is cancelled. To be licensed again means reapplying, meeting every current requirement and passing the exams. An associate registration is cancelled six years from its original issue date (seven years from 1 January 2027, under AB 1598) and cannot be renewed past that.

What else has a deadline?

Address of record and email: update in BreEZe within 30 days of a change. Legal name: within 30 days of new government photo ID, with a certified court order, marriage certificate or dissolution plus the ID, and allow 30 business days; since 1 January 2024 a licensee may request confidentiality of a previous name or gender under B&P §27.5. A taxpayer identification number is required for issuance and renewal, and delinquent court-ordered child support blocks a permanent renewal (a 150-day temporary may issue instead).

Public verification record

Source-checked, not expert-reviewed.

Checked . Scheduled review by ; sooner if Board renewal, fee, continuing-education, or license-status change; quarterly checkpoint.

See sources, scope, limits, and affected pages

Maintained evidence behind this page

Built on 1 public evidence record.

If a watched source changes, these dependencies put this page into the correction review before a material update can ship.

Inspect the source-impact map

You should not have to work this part out on your own.

Once a month: free tools and apps worth having, better ways to run the admin side of a practice, what other California therapists are actually doing, and anything new here that might save you an afternoon.

About monthly. One click to leave. Never sold, never shared. The consent box is separate and unticked because California requires it — and because it should be.