From AMFT to LMFT

Your California LMFT application, in dependency order

In short

Editorial review: 24 August 2026Primary sources checkedOpen the controlling source ↗
What does the California LMFT application actually require?

The records, the application approval, two examinations and the initial license request, in dependency order

3,000 hours is one checkpoint

Collecting 3,000 hours is only one checkpoint. This checklist sequences the records, application approval, two examinations and initial license request.

In-state routeCalifornia BBSChecked 22 August 2026

Before submitting

The 3,000-hours calculator identifies which category, not just which total, is still incomplete.

Application packet

  1. Use the current in-state LMFT licensure application. Out-of-state applicants must choose the applicable Path A or Path B route.
  2. Enter experience consistently. Dates and totals should agree across the application, weekly summaries and supervisor verifications.
  3. Include required experience verification. Do not send irreplaceable originals unless the current instructions require them.
  4. Address fingerprints and disclosures. Follow the current application’s instructions even if fingerprints were supplied earlier.
  5. Pay the current fee. California temporary fee schedules can change; use the BBS fee calculator and verify the live Board form.
  6. Keep a complete copy and delivery proof. A later deficiency letter is easier to answer when the exact submission is preserved.

After the Board approves it

For an associate registrant, clinical-exam eligibility requires both an approved LMFT application and a passed LMFT California Law and Ethics Exam. Pearson VUE then sends scheduling information.

The clinical examination must be taken inside the Board’s one-year deadline. A failed attempt carries a 90-day waiting period, and the retake must also occur inside the continuing eligibility deadline.

Passing is not issuance

After passing the clinical examination, request and pay for initial LMFT license issuance within one year. Passing the exam alone does not create an active license.

Once issued, verify the public license record, update professional advertising and calendar the first renewal. Continue with the LMFT renewal guide.

How this regulatory page was reviewed
  • The current California BBS applicant, renewal, or continuing-education page was opened first.
  • Every form, fee, hour total, deadline, and exception was checked against a Board page or Board PDF dated or live on 24 August 2026.
  • A Board page that still shows the older fee schedule is identified as stale; the specific July 2026 fee-reduction FAQ controls the figures shown here.
  • When the Board does not state an answer, this page says not stated instead of estimating it.
  • Readers are linked to the source and told to use the current form rather than a saved copy.

Primary sources

  1. California BBS: LMFT pathway, forms and publications
  2. California BBS: LMFT Clinical Examination
Page date8 September 2026All updates →
Source notes

Use the citations and any dated evidence records to check the claims relevant to your task. This label is not a verification status.

You should not have to work this part out on your own.

Once a month: free tools and apps worth having, better ways to run the admin side of a practice, what other California therapists are actually doing, and anything new here that might save you an afternoon.

About monthly. One click to leave. Never sold, never shared. The consent box is separate and unticked because California requires it — and because it should be.