Who needs AMFT registration?
AMFT application checklist
- Confirm the degree route. Use the in-state application for a qualifying California degree; out-of-state and out-of-country degrees use a different review route.
- Arrange the official transcript. Follow the Board’s electronic-transcript instructions. Do not assume a student copy or diploma proves the required coursework.
- Complete fingerprints. California applicants generally use Live Scan; applicants outside California follow the Board’s hard-card instructions.
- Prepare application disclosures. Read every question and supply requested documentation rather than leaving the Board to request it later.
- Submit the current form and fee. Use the live BBS LMFT applicant page because forms and temporary fee amounts change.
- Preserve proof. Keep the submission confirmation, transcript delivery record and fingerprint receipt.
When can post-degree hours count?
The separate 90-day-rule guide explains employer type, application timing and the dates that matter. Use the 3,000-hours calculator only after deciding which hours are legally countable.
What happens after the number arrives?
- Confirm the registration status and expiration date in the Board’s license lookup.
- Use the correct AMFT title and registration number in advertising.
- Maintain a compliant supervisor relationship and required agreements.
- Until 31 December 2026, take the California Law and Ethics Exam during each renewal cycle until passed. From 1 January 2027 (AB 1598, Chapter 528) renewal no longer needs an attempt.
- Complete the registrant’s required three hours of law-and-ethics CE before each renewal.
- Renew annually; the original registration lasts six years with five renewals until 31 December 2026, and seven years with six renewals from 1 January 2027.
Project the timeline with the AMFT hours calculator and review California supervision requirements.
How this regulatory page was reviewed
- The current California BBS applicant, renewal, or continuing-education page was opened first.
- Every form, fee, hour total, deadline, and exception was checked against a Board page or Board PDF dated or live on 24 August 2026.
- A Board page that still shows the older fee schedule is identified as stale; the specific July 2026 fee-reduction FAQ controls the figures shown here.
- When the Board does not state an answer, this page says not stated instead of estimating it.
- Readers are linked to the source and told to use the current form rather than a saved copy.
Primary sources
The California LMFT route
What actually delays an associate application, in the Board’s words
Each answer restates the Board’s Top Tips for a Smooth Associate Application Process and its LMFT applicant page, read 3 September 2026.
How soon after graduating should the application go in?
Within 90 days of graduation if you want post-degree hours earned before the number issues to count — that is the 90-day rule, and the Board’s first tip. It requires the employer’s own signed and processed Live Scan form, which is a different Live Scan from the one in the associate application; keep both.
When should I request transcripts and the degree program certification?
No earlier than two weeks before you submit the application. The Board says requesting them earlier “may cause delays,” because a document that arrives before the file exists has nothing to attach to.
How long does processing take, and will the Board confirm receipt?
Standard processing is 30 business days, longer in graduation seasons, in the order received. The Board cannot confirm receipt of applications or payments, so mail with tracking and delivery confirmation, keep a copy of the whole packet, and check that the check is filled out and signed — a missing signature or address is enough to stall a file.
Which email address should be on the application?
One you will still have after graduation. The Board uses it for application status and for every exam and licensure notice that follows; a school address that closes at graduation is how eligibility emails go unread. Change it later through the Change of Address form in BreEZe.
What is a subsequent registration number, and what can I do on it?
A registration lasts six years with five renewals, or seven years with six renewals from 1 January 2027; the associate clocks calculator gives the exact end date and each renewal date from the issue date. An associate who has not finished the hours in that time applies for a subsequent number to keep accruing. It cannot be issued until the Law and Ethics exam is passed, and a registrant on a subsequent number cannot work in a private practice or a professional corporation setting — the Board’s applicant page says “there are no exceptions.” From 1 January 2027, AB 1598 (Chapter 528) allows a one-time two-year hardship extension for exactly that setting; the bill tracker quotes it.
Where does the Board want questions to go first?
To its own FAQs and publications on the applicant page — the 90-day rule FAQ, the trainee and associate FAQ, the supervision guide — before an inquiry. The Board says so in its tips because answering questions the publications already cover is what slows the evaluators down.
Licensure
The route to LMFT, and how long it really takes.